RSS

Why Is It Cold Meatloaf?

24 Apr

Seriously – anyone else in the area sick of this flip-flopping weather?  Forgive me for being amazed by the appearance of snow yesterday and today, because we live in “Canada”, but in my neck of the woods, we don’t get a lot of snow.  My parents get a lot of snow, but they are 450km away across the province.

So needless to say, I have been freezing.  And a fair weather runner, which is not a normal thing for me.  I have discovered that after my various injuries and recovery, the cold makes me sore.  Really sore.  Joint aches and stiffness.  I’m only 32, but the cold makes me feel like I’m a lot older.  My fitness levels have been bouncing back, but I have some extreme fatigue going on and my Raynaud’s Disease is getting a bit worse.  So tomorrow I’m off to see the doctor to make sure everything is all right.

In the meantime, I have been cooking and trying to counter attack the weekend of bad eating.  Horrible eating, really.  Sunday I had a protein shake for breakfast…followed by part of an enormous chocolate chip cookie, then a beavertail (for those who don’t know what this is, you need to come to Ontario and go to Ottawa, the Toronto Zoo, or Barrie and try one ASAP!).  This was followed by gloriously crispy french fries.  And a headache that was immensely painful.  And yesterday I thought I could move on with my good eating, and then remembered I had an all day staff meeting that included the most delicious strawberry custard cake I have ever had, because we were celebrating Marrianne’s 20th anniversary with the museums.  Come on…you have to celebrate that!!!  And so the headache continues…

So here is my delicious meatloaf I made!  No surprise, it has bacon in it!  :)

2 pounds lean ground beef
6 slices bacon, finely chopped
1 package mushrooms, finely chopped
2 shallots, chopped
1 garlic clove, chopped
2 eggs
salt and pepper
basil
oregano
paprika
organic bbq sauce (or tomato sauce with honey, or worcestershire sauce…tis up to you!)

Preheat the oven to 350F.  Mix all the ingredients, except the seasoning and bbq sauce, in a bowl and combine well.  Add (to taste) your choice of seasoning (I went with salt and pepper, and then what was handy at the time).  Press the mixture into an appropriate sized casserole/baking dish.  Bake in the oven for 15-20 minutes, then cover with the sauce of your choice.  We used an organic bbq sauce.  Continue baking for another 20-30 minutes.

You will most likely need to drain the meatloaf, due to bacon fat and water from the mushrooms.  Don’t drain it all if you plan on storing it in the fridge – it will keep it moist for the next time.

Image

Image

An awesome comfort dish for this colder, miserable weather!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 24, 2012 in Cooking, Food, Recipes

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 386 other followers

